Why I Ended Things With A Single Father…

I would say it’s not the kid, but I’d be lying

April Hawkins, Ask A Bitchface
4 min readApr 28, 2024
photo via Unsplash

Recently, I ended things with the man I’ve been seeing over a year.

A fact for bonus points, though, I’ve known him for 30 years, and he is one of my oldest friends. Great guy, salt of the Earth, just solid people.

I believed in us. So much so that I helped him through an active addiction that nearly triggered a relapse for me. So much so that I did something I never thought I would do, and that is let another girl child get close to my heart. After the passing of my own daughter, I said I would never again do this to myself.

Now look at where we are.

However, I digress. Allow me to explain myself, lest you people believe I’m some type of evil StepBitch, just pointing my well-manicured nails at chores children must do, while having another child spit polish my Louboutins. False.

I would never allow a child to spit on my Louboutins. That’s disgusting.

The Weekend Dad

It seemed that my ex had different ideas about parenting than I did. And by different ideas, I mean that anything she did was perfectly fine, and I was to take it and smile. She was to run our household, and I could just sit back and watch it occur.

--

--

April Hawkins, Ask A Bitchface

Author. Columnist. Activist. Poet basically since birth. Defender of dogs and underdogs, follow me on Substack: askabitchface@substack.com