Why I Thought Feminism Wasn’t For Me…

The old movement made me feel I wasn’t worthy.

April Hawkins, Ask A Bitchface
5 min readMar 8, 2023
photo via Reddit

I was aimlessly scrolling earlier and came upon a group of women completely up in arms about the attached text from an old home economics book. I’m old enough to have actually taken home ec, although I opted for shop instead.

We built little wooden CO2 cars. It was fun. I kept all my fingers. Also fun.

To this day, I cannot sew a stitch. I mean, I can, but it looks like Frankenstein did it with a fucking 10 gauge, and it’s falling out as soon as you try to wear it, so, let’s don’t.

I’m an embarrassment to my family anyway, so you can just tack this shit onto the list, sis. I have zero desire to poke my fingertips eighteen thousand times to hem some pants. My dry cleaners does that. And it’s fairly inexpensive. I’m good.

Back to the lecture at hand.

As y’all are aware, I’m Southern, been that way my whole life, don’t plan on changing it in the foreseeable future. A lot of the shit on this list, I will openly admit is some shit I have happening over here.

If you show up to the house, I’m probably cooking something, because you feed people you care about. Nobody is going to walk into my house looking messy, because I can’t fathom living like that. You’re…

--

--

April Hawkins, Ask A Bitchface

Author. Columnist. Activist. Poet basically since birth. Defender of dogs and underdogs, follow me on Substack: askabitchface@substack.com